Six on Saturday 14/03/20

Six on Saturday by the skin of my teeth! It’s been a week of rain, rain, more rain, hail, sleet, wind and some sunshine. I’ve been in the garden this afternoon turning over the compost bins, a very satisfying job. At least we gardeners will have plenty to do during self-isolation.

1. A couple of clumps of these bulbs come up in the border alongside the drive every year. The name has escaped me for the moment

C9F86BD6-83E3-4B1A-A46D-E517EACC2D53

2. The last Hellebore. No more, I promise. I nearly forgot to include this one and it’s nearly past it’s best.

0118F02A-25BF-4B60-9A3B-0568C6420B5B

3. Persicaria microcephala ’Red Dragon’ has burst through the ground. I grow this against a trellis and ‘train’ it up it.

6DAD2416-B8F8-42FD-94BE-0B03B5CAE8C8

4. Many years ago I grew some Hyacinths in a pot then planted them out in the border. They come back every year but never multiply. I don’t grow Hyacinths any more as the Non-Gardener reckons they smell like cat wee. Hmmmmm.

AF09BE30-B970-4E9B-9A5B-2852B4A5689B

5. The patio pots are looking good despite what the weather has thrown at them. I have layer planted the bigger pots for years but for some reason everything is flowering at the same time this year.
3722E8E6-D480-4860-BAC1-02D1AE0D2363

6. Primroses are coming out all over the garden but are also being badly eaten by slugs. Some seem to have a pink tinge this year.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks for reading this far. Sadly no gardening for me tomorrow as I’m working. I’ve a couple of days off this week though and the weather doesn’t look too bad. 🤞

Catch up with the other Sixers courtesy of our host

https://the propagatorblog.wordpress.com/

7 thoughts on “Six on Saturday 14/03/20”

  1. Cat wee? That’s a bit mind boggling. Love the patio pots & the boot scraper. What a lovely sight to look out on. The hellebore backed up by crocus foliage is really lovely, too. The quilter’s eye is everywhere in your garden.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment