Six on Saturday 21/10/17

I went out into the garden nice and early today to take some pictures before Storm Brian hit. I’ve moved several of the pots into the greenhouse for 24 hours while the wind blows through. Even the large pots were blowing over in the high winds the other week. Here are my six for this week.

1. Nerine bowdenii. I’ve tried growing this a few times with no success. I think I’m guilty of too many plants in too small a space and so they get crowded out. This year I decided to try some in a pot. Five bulbs, one flowering stem. Not very impressive success rate – it is beautiful though.73FD6CD5-A732-4F4B-BB5A-0CCF1BB2A0512. I have quite a lot of clematis (mostly viticella) growing up and through plants and supports. Several of them seem to be having a final fling including ‘Margot Koster’. It’s growing through a honeysuckle.

E728B98F-3853-420F-9700-945D2FDB2D543. A sedum, not sure which variety. It’s been an absolute bee magnet for weeks. It’s going over now and the colour has been darkening over the last week. I have several clumps of this as I took some cuttings from a friend’s plant a couple of years ago and they all took!52988725-68EC-4C80-821A-9325E2DC9DE14. I bought Geranium ‘Rozanne’ a few years ago as the label said that it would flower in shade. It’s growing between an Amelanchier and a large Pieris in a shady north facing border. It maybe gets a bit leggier than if it was in a more open position but has flowered all summer long.

5BCCE288-ECE1-4B3B-AC3C-798E3E494F755. Miscanthus sinensis ‘Morning Light’, I think! A beautiful plant virtually every day of the year

62C9A376-B3E2-47B9-A833-9C2BBEBDA5AF6. Rosa ‘Graham Thomas’. I don’t have room for many roses but grow a few up posts and ropes, including this one. As it grows against a post it reaches a height of about six feet. It’s flowers well into November usually and was looking good this morning but I doubt there will be many flowers left in the morning.

03F64CFB-45AA-4BF9-9E4D-F9756DB4B9F3That’s it for this week. Thanks to the Propogator (https://thepropagatorblog.wordpress.com/2017/10/21/six-on-saturday-21-10/) for hosting this. I’m really enjoying seeing snapshots of other people’s gardens and also sharing mine.

4 thoughts on “Six on Saturday 21/10/17”

  1. I like the way the sedum gets gradually darker purple over the weeks after starting off bright pink. Mine looks very similar and is a Sedum spectabile, I suspect yours is too, but I’m not sure of the variety name. Mine might be “Brilliant” but I can’t quite recall, so that might be what yours is.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your rozanne. I have a few shady spots that would benefit from that splash of colour! It hadn’t occurred to me to take cuttings of sedum for some reason, I have a couple,must give it a try…

    Like

  3. I have a big neglected patch of Nerines running along a path that is sunny one end, shady the other. They are rubbish at the shady end. The bulbs are all very overcrowded, doesn’t seem to bother them. They can also be browsed as fast as they grow by slugs in early spring. Trecanna Nursery website has good growing advice.

    Like

Leave a comment